Vehicle Tag Renewals
New residents must register their vehicles within thirty days of establishing residency
in Georgia. Residents must present a Georgia driver's license with their Coweta
County address in order to register. A copy of a current business license must be
presented for a first time registration in a business name.
Out-of-state titles must be surrendered and transferred to Georgia titles (year
models 1985 and older are not required to be titled in Georgia). If there is a lien
on the vehicle and you do not have the title, we must have the current registration
and the name and address of the lien holder. Additionally leased vehicles require
a power of attorney from the leasing company and a copy of the lease agreement.
Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state's
data base by your insurance company in order to register your vehicle. The vehicle
must be covered by liability insurance at all times or a lapse in coverage penalty
will apply. The penalty is established by state law.
If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the tag registration. If your
vehicle is not operational on your birthday, you still must pay the taxes due to
avoid late registration penalties.
Tags expire on the birthday of the first owner shown on the registration.
You should receive a tag notice at least 30 days prior to your birthday. Penalties
apply after the birthday deadline. Failure to receive a notice in the mail does not
relieve the penalty. If you do not receive a tag notice, call the Tag Office
with your tag number and one will be mailed to you. This must be done in time to
insure registration by your birthday.
Motor vehicle owners are encouraged to renew their tags by mail whenever possible.
You can also renew your tag over the internet at
mvd.dor.ga.gov/tags or by phone at 877-496-0249.
The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax ($5 minimum) plus 25% of the
tag fee. These penalties are applied immediately following the due date.
Newly purchased vehicles must be registered within 7 days if purchased from an individual
or 30 days if purchased from a dealer. If you sell or trade a vehicle you keep the
tag. Tags can be transferred to new vehicles that are registered to the same first
owner. Proof of title (or bill of sale for 1985 and older models) is required to
purchase a tag or transfer a tag from a vehicle you no longer own.
Emissions -In 2013 Annual Emission Testing is required for 1989 - 2010 year
models (2011 and newer models are exempt from testing during 2013). The test is
valid for 12 months from the date of the test and is good for one renewal only.
If the vehicle fails the test, you must have it repaired and retested before you
can register the vehicle. It is recommended that emission testing be performed 30
to 60 days before your birthday.
There is a Georgia Clean Air Force representative available in the Tag Office with
hours as follows: Monday and Wednesday, 8:30 am – 12:30 pm & 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm.
This GCAF representative processes Senior Waivers, Repair Waivers and Out of
Area Extensions. Emission information may also be obtained by calling
the Georgia Clean Air Force at 1-800-449-2471 or by fax at 404-479-4384 or by going
to their website at www.cleanairforce.com.
Their email address is email@example.com.
New Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) - House Bill 386, passed during
the 2012 session of the Georgia General Assembly, created significant changes regarding
the taxation of motor vehicles. Most importantly, vehicles purchased and/or titled
on or after March 1, 2013 will no longer be subject to sales tax or the annual ad
valorem tax but instead are subject to a one-time State and Local Title Ad Valorem
Tax Fee (TAVT). Similarly, vehicles purchased on or after January 1, 2012 – February
28, 2013 will have the ability to “opt-in” to the new TAVT system from March 1,
2013 through February 28, 2014 (or no later than the titled owner’s birthday). Generally,
all other vehicles remain subject to annual ad valorem taxes. The title tax law
applies to individual (casual) sales as well as to dealer sales.
If you are thinking about buying or trading for another vehicle and you would like
to get an estimate of the new Title Ad Valorem tax, you can go to the state's Title Ad Valorem Tax Calculator.
For further information regarding vehicle registration, please visit the State of
Georgia Motor Vehicle Division website at http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/